Biblian: Santuario de la Virgen del Rocío
"Majestic church with spectacular view"
This church of the last century was built on the hill of Mount Zhalao, in fact, on the altar you see the stone directly.
Climbing the steps, one can appreciate the Gothic architecture of the ...
Gothic style. Place of devotion and visit of thousands of believers from different parts of the country. It was restructured and raised in magnificent work, using carved stone. Tower and ships supported by 49 granite columns, alternating more than 36 arches and hanging beautiful wrought iron and glass chandeliers, the light highlights the rocky walls of the hill.
Excursion Ingapirca + Biblian: Santuario de la Virgen del Rocío
|from 9:00 AM to 15:00 PM|
|Cost for 1 person||$ 15.00|
It is located on the steep hill of the Zhalao, located to the east of the city of Biblián, in the province of Cañar.
Its construction began in 1893. The chapel was built on a rock, on August 26, 1894, to this place people come from all over Ecuador.
In 1893 was a year of public calamity for the region of the Ecuadorian Austro, mainly in what today is the canton Biblián; This was due to repeated and devastating frosts that destroyed all the crops.
The inhabitants looked up to heaven to implore divine mercy in the face of such a difficult circumstance. Thus, on January 20, 1894, the villagers of Biblián, in a fervent procession through rugged paths, took the image and placed it in a small grotto on the rock of Mount Zhalao.
The outstanding acts of this ceremony are: the coronation of the venerable image, and the delivery to the Virgin of a Holy Rosary by a delegate of the Holy Father.
• The top of the Zhalao: Offers an impressive panoramic view of the cities of Biblián and Azogues.
The majestic Sanctuary of the Virgin of the Dew, was characterized by being a religious tradition the same that arose there by 1893. At that time Biblián lived difficult moments by the serious drought that finished with animals and sowing. Therefore, Father Daniel Muñoz, pastor of that time, began to pray and on a Saturday, January 20, 1894, with a group of people went up to the mountain of the Zhalao and placed the image of a tiny virgin who had preserved since his time seminarian.
According to the stories tell of little by little began to fall from the sky a few drops of water and from that time was called "Mother of the Dew".
From that date a wooden Sanctuary was built, with Gothic style. Over the years the current sanctuary was built, a place of devotion and visits of thousands of believers from different parts of the country.
"Lady Liberala or Chapulita"
In 1896 the image of the Virgin of the Dew was taken to Cuenca, due to the war between the Conservatives and Liberals directed by Eloy Alfaro. "The Virgin of the Dew made the miracle of ending the conflict from which the liberals triumphed and protected the city for the holy faith of the people."
In honor of that miracle a mass was offered with the participation of the same soldiers, for that reason they designated like "Lady of Peace" and others like; "Lady Liberala or Chapulita".
The attendance of the romeriantes is great, besides that the Sanctuary is appreciated for its art and structure that rises majestically in the hill of the Zhalao.
Each visitor prays for their health and that of their own, traveling, arranging the home, for a good husband, among others.
Place of devotion and visit of thousands of believers from different parts of the country. It was restructured and raised in magnificent work.
Telf: +593 96 704 3262